Burundi, Border, Barrio (B3) Overview

Burundi, Border, Barrio is the Good Samaritan and Newman communities studying, praying, and serving together to develop relationships of mutuality globally, on the border, and more locally, with special attention to the environment, education, hunger, and health.

We gather monthly in Roetter Hall to study, pray, and plan action.  In addition, we have special events scheduled Oct 11 and Nov 1:

2015:

  • Sunday, October 11, 11:00-noon: Special presentation by Fabrice Bizimana from Burundi.
  • Saturday, October 24, 10:30am-noon
  • Sunday, November 1, 2:00-3:30:  Special presentation of the Pope’s letter on the environment
  • Sunday, November 22, 2:00-3:30
  • Saturday, December 12, 10:30am-noon

2016:

  • Sunday, January 17, 2:00-3:30
  • Saturday, February 13, 10:30am-noon
  • Sunday, March 13, 2:00-3:30
  • Saturday, April 9, 10:30am-noon
  • Sunday, May 15, 2:00-3:30

Below you can find brief descriptions of efforts within these 3 broad categories and links to more information where you can find out more and volunteer to get involved.

Burundi

Global outreach

Helping our Sisters and Brothers in Burundi

burundi-drummingOur global outreach focus is on Burundi because an organization called Burundi Friends International grew out of our community. We work closely with BFI in their mission to fight poverty, educate youth, and provide hope.
Learn More

Border

Helping our Sisters and Brothers in Mexico

mexicali-tripGiven our proximity to the border with Mexico, border issues are very prominent for San Diegans. We have a relationship with the Dominican parish in Mexicali and are helping to build a house in Tijuana through Build a Miracle.
Learn More

Barrio

Helping our neighbors in San Diego

Our more local, or “barrio,” outreach centers around our various meal ministries. You can volunteer one meal at a time or regularly.

Also, our annual Advent Giving Tree provides help for pregnant teens and low-income mothers. The big kick-off party, which includes the creation of care packages for our homeless brothers and sisters, is Sunday, November 15, 2:00-3:30pm.

Learn More